Square-Enix recently revealed a new Final Fantasy title they’re working on for the 3DS together with developer indieszero. It’s called Theatrhythm: Final Fantasy and will be a music game featuring music from all the numbered installments in the series up to XIII.

Yes, you read that right. And yes, it’s called Theatrhythm. You thought Dissidia: Duodecim was bad?

Each numbered entry in the Final Fantasy series basically comprises one episode of the game. After choosing a party, episode and difficulty level, players will go through three main stages, Field, Battle and Event, all the while interacting with the world using music-based gameplay. Defeating monsters will level up the characters, although no details on how that will work have been given as of yet. Players will also be able to unlock new music, movies and other things.

No release date has been given so far. Hit the jump to see the first two screenshots of the game in action.



Share and Enjoy:
  • Digg
  • Facebook
  • Reddit
  • StumbleUpon
  • Tumblr
  • Twitter
  • Yahoo! Buzz

Posted by: Andrej

Posted on: July 11, 2011

Drej is a volunteer writer for The Daily DL. He's been into gaming since he was 3 years old and thus knows a thing or two. When he's not busy playing games, watching obscure movies or being an cynic, he tries to write descriptions of himself in the third person that won't make him look like the nerd he actually is. He also knows Japanese and isn't afraid to use it.